The Town Mill was built in 1650 by William, the Second Duke of Hamilton, who was then resident in Strathaven Castle which sits adjacent to the Mill. The Town Mill played an integral part in the working life of Strathaven for three and a quarter centuries. The Mill was given an added storey in 1877 to make room for a larger water wheel, and this new power source extended the use of the Town Mill into brewing, printing and metal works.
After production ceased in 1966, The Mill sadly fell quickly into disrepair. In 1974, Strathaven Arts Guild conceived and commenced its ambitious programme of converting the dilapidated Mill into an Arts Centre.